Skip to product information
1 of 1

Potatohead People Eat Your Heart Out

Potatohead People Eat Your Heart Out

Regular price $23.99 USD
Regular price $23.99 USD Sale price $23.99 USD
Sale Sold out

Vancouvers premiere multi-faceted production duo Potatohead People (aka Nick Wisdom & AstroLogical) make their long awaited return to Bastard Jazz with their 4th album, Eat Your Heart Out. Jumping off on the clean production sensibilities that they've become heavily fetishized for over the last decade, the album finds the duo further stepping out from the shadow of the boards and strongly into the spotlight as vocalists, songwriters, and performers in their own respect. It's an album about our most connected human emotion, the subject of eons of songs written and songs to-be written: love & the ways it comes into play in our lives. Loving something unattainable, our initial infatuation often confused with love, longing for something that is no more, being in two different places in a relationship, and feeling the stability that love gives. Its deeply woven into the musical motif of the album, showing exponential growth for the duo as they reach new sonic palates they havent touched in the past. Even more exciting- the vast array of talent appearing on the album. Bonafide Hip-Hop legend Redman is in top form on the classic Rhodes driven Hip-Hop sound ofLast Nite while the Potatohead-sung hook is hazy & infectious. LA beat scene legend Shafiq Husayn (Anderson Paak, Jill Scott, Bilal, Sa-Ra) rides the slow analog funk of Angelwings down Wilshire Blvd, and Norwegian Hip-Hop wunderkind Ivan Ave picks things back up on the second verse. Vancouver' latest steamy export Diamond Cafe delivers a stunning performance on the early 80s influenced digital sex funk that is Paradisecoming in somewhere between Sade, El Debarge and Prefab Sprout. Longtime Rap favorites Abstract Rude & t3 (of Slum Village) meet frequent collaborator Kapok for Come Home, a beautiful swirling joint with strings, spacey keys, and Potatoheads signature hook lamenting a lost love.

1. The Formula 2. Keepin' It Kool (ft. Kendra Dias) 3. Last Nite (ft. Redman) 4. Angelwings (ft. Shafiq Husayn & Ivan Ave) 5. Distant Luv (ft. Kapok) 6. Follow Your Heart 7. Come Home (ft. Abstract Rude, t3 & Kapok) 8. Paradise (ft. Diamond Cafe) 9. Secret Mission (ft. Frank Nitt & Reggie B) 10. Everything U Need (ft. Kendra Dias) 11. For the Soul (ft. Moka Only)

  • Internal ID: JITRE
  • Released: 5/10/24
  • Format: Vinyl
  • Handling Note: **Please allow an additional 72 hours for this item's shipment.**
  • Genre: Rap & Hip-Hop
  • Format Detail: LP, Full Color Sleeve

66 in stock

View full details